HowTo: Turn off (mute) system beep

For anyone with a laptop who works in a library or other quiet area, system beeps every time you press the backspace key one too many times, or just using emacs, can be quite disturbing.

To shut them off: open an xterm or terminal, and enter the two lines Code:

xset b off xset b 0 0 0

Hope this helps.

There's also another way:

(as root) Code:

rmmod pcspkr

This removes the (annoying) pc-speaker driver. To load it back, just type:

(as root) Code:

modprobe pcspkr

27 Responses to “HowTo: Turn off (mute) system beep”

  1. Georgie Casey Says:

    Thank you! I was annoying everybody in the library here with that beep. But everytime you boot Ubuntu you have to rmmod pcspkr again. Any idea how to keep it permanent?

  2. corporate zombie Says:

    don’t forget about turning off the console via:
    setterm -blength 0

  3. Peter Says:

    For Ubuntu (I don’t know how other distros work):

    gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

    add line:
    blacklist pcspkr

    Great tip, my Latitude D620 has a loud beep, to say the least.

  4. Mathusael Says:

    and what is the difference in not compiling it in the kernel on the first place? (It’s under “Device Drivers —> Input Device Support —> [*] Misc —> PC Speaker support” in the 2.6 kernels.)

  5. Aquillar Says:

    Nothing I do on my D620 will stop the pcspkr module from loading on startup. I’ve blacklisted it as shown here and tried the hotplug blacklist, the stupid thing continues beeping after I restart!!!!!

  6. Christer Says:

    Ahhh! Blacklist tip in Ubunut Edgy above worked fine ! I love my D620 when i shuts up…..

  7. Rosie Says:

    I thank you for your comment.

  8. Marcel Says:

    Yeah, thanks a lot!!!!
    My problem was that in a library or quiet environment I would use the headphones… and that beep made me lost at least 30% of my hearing capacity!

  9. Marcel Says:

    Sorry, “lose” not “lost”.

  10. Cube Gopher Says:

    For my D620, running SuSE 10.2, the “setterm -blength 0″ worked. I set it in boot.local, but, being concerned about that being overridden by logins, I also added it to /etc/bash.bashrc.local. So far, it seems to be working. Thank the lord. That beep was killing me! I also verified that normal sound, in X, worked, and playwave worked just fine.

  11. Binoy Nicholas Says:

    That’s cool. I were scratching my head googling to kill this annoyance. Thanks a lot dude

  12. Jenny Tran Says:

    Thanks for the tip!

  13. [Sound] Disable Pc / Motherboard Speaker - openSUSE Forums Says:

    […] Re: [Sound] Disable Pc / Motherboard Speaker I would think there are many places/files where you can place the "setterm -blength" command, during the boot. There area also other solutions: HowTo: Turn off (mute) system beep « Muahahahahah […]

  14. [Sound] Disable Pc / Motherboard Speaker - openSUSE Forums Says:

    […] Re: [Sound] Disable Pc / Motherboard Speaker I would think there are many places/files where you can place the "setterm -blength" command, during the boot. There are also other solutions: HowTo: Turn off (mute) system beep « Muahahahahah […]

  15. Sabarish Says:

    Thanks, nice tip. I have to say it was very annoying and embarrassing when happens at office.

  16. Pepetopo Says:

    Thanks you so much!

  17. Turn Off Beep @ laptop « My Life and Research Says:

    […] think it’s enough! it’s time to shutdown the system beep. I found good tutorial @ this site . It solve my […]

  18. Drew Says:

    Dude. thanks so much for this.

  19. vlad Says:

    Yey.
    Thanks!

  20. Peter G. Says:

    Gracias….
    Me traia loco ese beep del sistema..
    Pero se acabo al fin…

    Gracias de nuevo

  21. Dawood Says:

    That’s a really annoying sound! I made it mute using this trick:

    http://www.myhowtoos.com/en/windows-howtoos/78-how-to-remove-a-beep-sound-on-the-laptop

  22. Disable/Mute System Beep di OpenSuSE 11.3 « harian k_de (kdenotes) Says:

    […] http://khaoohs.wordpress.com/2006/06/11/howto-turn-off-mute-system-beep/ […]

  23. Disable (Mute) System Beep di OpenSuSE 11.3 « harian k_de (kdenotes) Says:

    […] http://khaoohs.wordpress.com/2006/06/11/howto-turn-off-mute-system-beep/ […]

  24. FINAL SOLUTION Says:

    The following worked for me in Suse (no root required):

    In German
    Systemeinstellungen > Anwendungs- und Systembenachrichtigungen > Signalton:
    Haken bei “Signalton statt Systemnachrichten verwenden”! Aber Lautstärke auf 0% setzen!

    In English something like
    System settings > application and system messages > System Beep tab
    Check “Enable System Beep”! But set its to intensity to 0%!

  25. http://svlas.ru/index.php/:AlbertKin Says:

    I’m no longer sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time studying much more or figuring out
    more. Thank you for great info I was on the lookout
    for this info for my mission.

  26. 2013 Says:

    Howdy! I just wish to give you a huge thumbs
    up for the great info you have got here on this post. I am coming back
    to your web site for more soon.

  27. www.trenchlesstechnologies.net/ Says:

    click here for top quality info on Bill Granger anywhere

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

